Welcome to Färna
Aerial photo: Steve Henriksson
Färna has been occupied at least as far back as the mid-1500s. The ironworks had a humble start in 1607, with just one forge hammer and two furnaces. It was initially owned by the Crown, but it was during the 1630s that the works really started to thrive, thanks to the efforts of a powerful woman, Edla Widiksdotter. Between 1692 and 1789 the operation was run by Claes Wilkens, together with his heirs and other members of the family. It is worth mentioning Jacob Ramsell, a young and able book-keeper employed by Wilkens. He came from a poor family and, against all the rules—and the odds—succeeded in marrying the boss’s daughter, later to take over as the boss himself.
On our website you can find information and facts about Färna today. Select from the menu to the right and explore our surroundings. Most of the information is static and updated only twice per year.
To find more photos please visit our gallery, YouTube or Google Panoramio.
English text is copyright of www.ferna.nu and ekomuseum.se with permission.
Notice! This site, www.ferna.se is the official site for Färnabruk and Färna Hembygdsförening. We are not involved in the hotel, spa or other companies. But we try to keep up to date information about everything that happens in the village.